Is Venice the most beautiful city in the world?

It’s certainly the most beautiful city I’ve visited! I was there for a week with my friend from Newcastle to celebrate my 50th birthday.

It was really a big deal for me to be there, I haven’t been abroad for 9 years, as I felt it was a bit of a waste of money while I was struggling with M.E./CFS, and I would inevitably spend at least half of the days tired out in a hotel room. Thankfully, I can put that behind me – I walked the length and breadth of Venice every day I was there, and my friend was as tired as I was at the end of the day, but still ready to explore Venice again the next morning.

Just why is it so beautiful? Is it the famous sights?

St Marks Basilica

St Marks Basilica

Rialto Bridge

Rialto Bridge

St Mark's Square Lion

St Mark’s Square

St Mark's Square and Me

I’ve never seen St Marks Square so deserted, this was at 10.00 on a Thursday in February.

St Mark's Clocktower

St Mark’s Clocktower

Bridge of Sighs

Bridge of Sighs

View to St Mark's Square

Is it that the roads are canals?

Gondola – Grand Canal

CannaregioThis looks like a Caneletto painting to me; and this:

Grand Canal

Gondola

Gondolas passing

Just look at the incredible colour of the water here:

Water colour
Is it because it is a series of islands surrounded by water?

The Lagoon at dusk

View from San Giorgio

Gondolas at St Marks Square

This is San Michele, the cemetery island:

View to San Michele

Murano:

Main canal - Murano

Glass Shrine - Murano

Burano:

Burano

Or is it the lovely buildings?

Doge's Palace

Doge’s Palace

Giant’s steps

Giant’s steps, Doge’s Palace

Campanile

Venice buildings - Castello

And the wonky buildings?

Campanile and Canal

Campanile and Campo

Wonky Campanile

And a picturesque scene at every turn…?

Venice buildings

Venice buildings
Or the intricate detail?

Carved canal arch

Carving - Doge's Palace

Giant's staircase steps

And the carved sculpture?

Carved letterbox

Carving fish market

Venice Lion

Angel - Cemetery Island

Or the incredible interiors?

Ceiling in Doge’s palace

Ceiling in the Doge’s palace

Golden Staircase - Doge's palace

Golden Staircase – Doge’s palace

 

I think it must be a combination of everything that makes it so magical:

Rialto Bridge at night

San Simone Piccolo at Dusk

Sunset at San Salute

I had an amazing time, it was everything I hoped it would be.

More in my next post – Everyday Venice – about how life goes on in this extraordinary city.

Thanks to S. Miller for use of his photos.

4 comments

  1. Lovely blog post, Ruth. Many of the photos look like oil paintings we’ve all seen many times. I’ve never been to Venice yet, it’s on my bucket list, looks like you picked the perfect week to go.

  2. Such a lovely post, Ruth! – so glad you had such a lovely time there and were well and healthy for your 50th birthday treat (I thought you were in your 30s…..!) I’ve had happy trips to Venice too, and it’s a place I really love so it was a great pleasure to be re-acquainted with some of the sites. It is magically beautiful, isn’t it? – I’m still mulling over your suggestions why you think that is the case. Looking forward to the next post!

Leave a Reply

