Diggly’s Den

At last the time arrived for the visit to meet Diggly, as discussed here and here. Three of the Felty Folk had plucked up the courage to go on a first trip with me in the car. Neeva showed them around the car, and reassured them that it would be OK, and they climbed up into the safety seat I had created for them:

Climbing in

They were quite excited but a little nervous. I started the car, checked they were OK, and set off. They were quite quiet initially, and as they got used to the new sensations, they started happily chatting with each other.

Safety seat

I drove towards Selkirk, aiming for the area where I had seen Oosie, and she had done her leaf dance. When we were in the right area, I pulled into a layby to check with Oosie where to go next. They clambered out of their seat, and had a bit of a stretch and explored the car:

Oosie takes in the view

There was a lovely view to the distant hills:

The view

It was a lovely day altogether, much nicer for the trip than first intended, where it was supposed to be an easier way of Oosie getting to see her friend Diggly when travelling was hard on foot during the Winter. However the Winter was not too hard this year, and I had been a little unwell to take trips out, so it had been delayed. Oosie had managed to see Diggly a couple of times during the Winter, so this trip had turned into a bit of a jolly for the Felty Folk, and a bit of excitement travelling by car.

I showed them the map, and pointed out where I had seen Oosie before, and she was able to guide me towards where Diggly lived.

The Felty Folk consult the map

We set off again and soon came to the trees where I had seen Oosie:

Row of trees

A little further on, Oosie started getting quite excited and said we were nearly there, so I found a place to park up and we set off by foot, towards a footbridge:

Path to footbridge

This is the burn running under from the footbridge:

Burn from footbridge

We came to a forked path, but Oosie skipped ahead to show us  the way:

Oosie shows the way

Through the gate we were in beautiful woodland, paved with wild flowers. Forget-me-nots threaded under the trees:

Forget-me-not woodland

I love the way they change colour as the flowers age:

Wild Forget-me-not

There were Wood Anemones:

Wood Anemone

And striking trees – a Copper Beech:

Copper Beech

And a Crab Apple tree in full bloom:

Crab Apple Blossom

And a lichen encrusted Apple tree:

Diggly in apple tree

“It’s Diggly, it’s Diggly, it’s Diggly!!” cried Oosie jumping up and down in her excitement. The others were waving and calling out too.

Diggly

“Hello,” I said, “You must be Diggly.”

“That’s right, and you must be Ruth,” he said, “Oosie’s told me about you. I’d better come down and say hello to her…”

He climbed down and ran to Oosie:

Diggly pleased to see Oosie

They were VERY pleased to see each other. There must be something magical going on between them:

Oosie and Diggly

Diggly greeted the others, and they all climbed on a Butterbur leaf for a good chat:

The Felty Folk resting on a Butterbur leaf

I chatted with them for a while, but they were talking about Folk I didn’t know, so it was hard to join in. Diggly was giving them some lunch, but the food was only suitable for Felty Folk;so I said I’d go off for a short walk and explore, and would come back for them later, and left them chatting:

Oosie and Diggly on Butterbur leaf

On my walk I found a beautiful view across a field:

View across field

that somehow reminded me of the Monet painting, Le Pave du Chailly. There was a clump of Welsh Poppies that just glowed, under tender green beech leaves:

Welsh Poppies

Welsh poppy

Closer to the burn there were the unusual Water Avens:

Water Avens

They remind me of Victorian lampshades:

Water Avens close up

Maybe the Felty Folk use them for something, I’ll have to ask them. I walked back along the path by the Crab Apple tree:

Path back

and headed to the patch of Butterbur, but no Felty Folk were in sight. I carried on along the path and came back to the footbridge:

Sitting on bridge2

And there they were, waiting for me:

Sitting on bridge1

“Are you ready to go home?” I asked. “We can stay a bit longer if you like?”

“Yes, we’re ready to go now,” Neeva and Dod replied.

Sitting on bridge4

Oosie explained that Diggly had invited her to stay a few days, so she would make her own way back. Now I’d met Diggly, I was reassured that he would look after Oosie and return her safely.

We all said our goodbyes, and Neeva, Dod and I walked back to the car. I asked Neeva if this was normal behaviour for Felty Folk; and she said that when two Felty Folk really liked each other, they would try out spending longer amounts of time together, eventually they would either live together or not. She said, the Felty Folk don’t have marriage like us, but after two of them have lived together happily for a certain amount of time they would have a celebration, a bit like our wedding anniversaries.

So I guess we’ll have to wait and see what happens with Diggly and Oosie, and where they might make their home.

6 comments

      1. I think that would be a neat book if it ever happens. I do enjoy your stories.

Leave a Reply

