Neeva finds a good lookout

I went out for a little walk out the back of my house, past the bridge where I first saw Neeva, and away on the path by the Rookery. I was strolling along when I thought I heard something in the undergrowth, I stopped and listened and looked:

In the undergrowth

There was Neeva, climbing a tree. I kept quiet so I didn’t startle her and make her fall.

You can barely see her against the tree, she camouflages so well against the tree bark.

“Hello Ruth,” she said when she had finally reached a safe place, “I heard you there, but knew it was you, so I kept climbing. How do you like my lookout post?”

The Lookout

“Hi Neeva, that looks like a good spot.”

“Yes”, she continued, “I can see above the hedges and over the fields, and it’s much more comfortable than sitting on a branch. It keeps the wind out: I’m quite light, and wind can be a problem, especially high in a tree. It swings quite nicely too, it’s probably somewhere Dod would like to fall asleep too”, she chuckled.

Neeva sitting in her lookout

“Perhaps you could put some moss in there to make even more comfortable?” I suggested.

“That’s a good idea, I’ll go and get some later, but for the moment I think I’m just going to sit up here and enjoy it.”

“OK Neeva, I’ll see you soon. Bye.” I headed back home, and I hadn’t gone far when I noticed someone else…

Dod in field

“Hi there Dod, what have you got there?” I said.

Dod and bundle

“Hello Ruth. I’ve just got some bits of straight wood to make a few things round the home. I’ve got a ladder that needs fixing too. But I think I’m just going to have a little sit down first. It’s hard work collecting wood.”

He clambered to a warm stone in the sun and sat down with a grunt.

Dod resting

“Good to see you Dod,” I said, and his eyelids were getting heavier as he rested in the sun and I crept quietly away home.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

