Gothic

There is a Gothic theme happening in my life at the moment. I picked up a copy of Bram Stoker’s book, Dracula, while browsing for fiction in a charity shop the other day. It’s been on my list of books get around to reading since I studied Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein for my BA English degree. I still hadn’t got around to reading it before I went to visit friends in Leeds a couple of weeks ago, and was taken to Kirksall Abbey. We couldn’t get into the Abbey, as the BBC were setting the scenes for Frankenstein’s Wedding a live drama airing the following weekend. We still had a good look around the outside though.

Kirksall Abbey, Leeds

Kirksall Abbey, Leeds

Very atmospheric on a grey day. The next weekend I watched Frankenstein’s Wedding, which was a bit patchy, and I didn’t really get why it was done live, but it made the most of the setting. I also started reading Dracula that weekend, it’s quite a page-turner. I was reading the part set in Whitby last night, and thinking about my Mum who is on holiday in Whitby this week. I hope she doesn’t find herself out in her nightie followed by tall dark vampires with burning red eyes. And there was another program on about Whitby last night too – Churches: How to Read Them. My head is just full of dark skies, towering ruins and foreboding.

Quite a contrast to the lovely mild Spring weather we’re having in Scotland, I’ve been watching my daffodils gradually opening in my garden. Cheery.

Daffodils

I got out for a walk to get a bit of fresh air, and headed out to the nearest footpath from my house, which heads across fields towards some woods. As I was heading to the little wooden bridge which crosses Washing Burn I thought I saw something move out of the corner of my eye by the water.

I carried on across the bridge, and looked back… there was definately something there…

Over the Bridge

and I think it saw me!

Eyes

When I returned home, I looked out for the little creature, but it was gone. Maybe I imagined it…

Leave a Reply

